9783423282789
sample translation bookmark

On Getting Up

Tales of a Life

A century and a life - transformed into literature

As Helga Schubert’s mother explains to her daughter, she has accomplished three acts of heroism in her lifetime: refusing to abort her daughter, taking her along when fleeing from enemy troops during World War II, and not shooting Helga before the Russians invaded.
In brief episodes and crisp, emotional words, Helga Schubert tells the story of a century of German history - her own history, in an account that seamlessly combines fiction and truth. For over ten years, she was watched by the Stasi. She was almost fifty years old by the time she could vote in her first free election. However, it wasn’t until after her mother’s death that she could find reconciliation, both with her mother, with a life filled with resistance, and with herself.

• From the winner of the Ingeborg Bachman Award 2020
• For readers of Annie Ernaux and Monika Helfer
• Previous books by the author have been sold to Japan, France and Italy
• SPIEGEL bestseller: 125,000 copies sold

Details

dtv Literatur
224 pages, ISBN 978-3-423-28278-9
18. März 2021
details
Rights sold: Italy (Fazi), Korea (Marco Polo), The Netherlands (Pluim)